Friday, November 11, 2011

New7Wonders of Nature Winners Revealed

New7Wonders of Nature Winners Revealed

The provisional winners (first count) of the global winners in the New7Wonders of Nature has been announced by Bernard Weber, Founder-President of New7Wonders, at the headquarters of the New7Wonders Foundation in Zurich, Switzerland.

They are (in alphabetical order):

1. Amazon Rainforest � Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Peru, Suriname, Venezuela
2. Halong Bay � Vietnam
3. Iguazu Falls � Argentina, Brazil
4. Jeju Island � South Korea
5. Komodo National Park � Indonesia
6. Puerto Princesa Underground River � Palawan, Philippines
7. Table Mountain � South Africa

The provisional results are based on the first count of votes completed since voting ended at November 11, 11:11 a.m. (GMT). The results will now be checked, validated and independently verified. Once the voting validation process is completed, in early 2012, New7Wonders will then work with the confirmed winners to organize the Official Inauguration events.

I would like to thank the many champions, citizens, voluntary organizations, public bodies and governments that have helped promote the New7Wonders of Nature campaign over the past four years, starting with over 440 locations from over 220 countries and all the way to the 28 Finalist candidates from whom the New7Wonders of Nature have been chosen.� Weber said, adding, �We congratulate each of these participants on achieving their provisional New7Wonders of Nature status, and look forward to completing the confirmation process to celebrate each one in their own Official Inauguration ceremony early in 2012. When the New7Wonders of Nature are confirmed they will join the man-made New 7 Wonders of the World in becoming part of Global Memory for humankind for ever.�

No comments:

Post a Comment