Wednesday, July 13, 2011

Manny Pacquiao Named "Best Fighter" in ESPY Award

This year's Best Fighter in the annual ESPY Award is presented to Pinoy pound-for-pound 8-division world boxing champ Manny "Pacman" Pacquiao.

Pacquiao bested other hardcore fellow nominees like future hall of famer Bernard Hopkins - the oldest boxer to win a major world title, middleweight king Sergio Martinez - who successfully defended his crown twice with impressive knockout victories, UFC light heavyweight champion Jon Jones, UFC welterweight champion Georges St-Pierre.

The ESPY (Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly) Award is presented by the American cable television network ESPN to recognize individual and team athletic achievement and other sports-related performance.

Other winners at the 2011 ESPY Award are:

Best Championship Performance - goalie Tim Thomas of the Stanley Cup champion Boston Bruins.

Best Female Athlete - reigning Olympic downhill champion and three-time overall World Cup ski champion Lindsey Vonn.

Best Male College Athlete - BYU's Jimmer Fredette, who led the nation in scoring as a senior at 28.5 points per game.

� Recipient of the Jimmy V Award - NCAA wrestling champion Anthony Robles of Arizona State.

Best Game - the Philadelphia Eagles' 38-31 victory over the New York Giants.

Best Upset - the VCU men's basketball team.

Best NFL Player - Super Bowl MVP Aaron Rodgers of the Green Bay Packers.

Best MLB Player - pitcher Roy Halladay of the Philadelphia Phillies.

Best Driver - five-time Sprint Cup champion Jimmie Johnson.

Best WNBA Player - Diana Taurasi of the Phoenix Mercury.

Best Fighter - Manny Pacquiao who scored a unanimous decision victory against Antonio Margarito to win the WBC's 154-pound title, becoming boxing's first eight-division champion and by scoring a unanimous decision over Shane Mosley in May 2011.

Best Male Golfer - U.S. Open champion Rory McIlroy.

Best Female Golfer - Cristie Kerr.

Best Male Tennis Player - Rafael Nadal.

Best Female Tennis Player - Serena Williams.

Best Female College Athlete - Maya Moore of Connecticut.

Best Male Action Sport Athlete - Shaun White.

Best Female Action Sport Athlete - Stephanie Gilmore.

Best Jockey - John Velasquez.

Best Male Athlete with a Disability - Arizona State wrestler Anthony Robles.

Best Female Athlete with a Disability - swimmer Mallory Weggemann.

Best Bowler - Jason Belmonte.

Best MLS Player - Landon Donovan.

Best Track and Field Athlete - sprinter Tyson Gay.

Best Comeback - former Boston College linebacker Mark Herzlich.

Castrol EDGE NFL Strongest Performance - Arian Foster of the Houston Texans.

Capital One Cup - Stanford women's athletics and Florida men's athletics.

est Sports Movie - "The Fighter".

The awarding ceremony will be held tonight, July 13, at the Nokia Theatre in California and will be hosted by American actor and comedian Seth Meyers.

No comments:

Post a Comment