Sunday, July 10, 2011

UAAP Season 74 Games Schedule

Despite the rains, the 74th season of the University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) kicked off with a bang at the Marikina Sports Center on Saturday.

Carrying 4,000 color-coded umbrellas, athletes representing the 8 UAAP schools paraded around the sports complex's oval track, greeting those in attendance.

First to march were athletes from the University of the Philippines (UP), followed by National University (NU), and perennial over-all champion University of Sto. Tomas (UST).

Marching next were athletes from the Far Eastern University (FEU), University of the East (UE), Adamson University (AdU), and De La Salle University (DLSU).

The last to parade were representatives of host school Ateneo de Manila University (AdMU).

Former Ateneo standout and retired PBA star Olcen Racela carried the UAAP flame in a torch that travelled from one member school to the other�DLSU, AdU, NU, UE, FEU, UST, and UP�before finally making it to Katipunan and eventually in a giant cauldron at the heart of the Marikina Sports Park.

Racela, clad in Ateneo�s blue and white, was lifted to the 20-foot high cauldron on a conveyor and in cue with Season 74 president Ricky Palou�s official declaration of the games open, the flame danced gracefully with the wind.

On behalf of the board of directors of UAAP, I declare Season 74 open," said Palou.

The elaborate Olympic style ceremony began with the solemn entry of colors where the cadets of host school Ateneo brought in a 60-feet-by-30 Philippine flag.

Meanwhile, here is the complete Round 1 schedule of games of the 2011 UAAP Season 74 Men�s Basketball Tournament as published at the UAAP Season 74�s official website.

Sunday, July 10: Araneta Coliseum

1:00 pm FEU vs DLSU
3:00 pm ADMU vs AdU

Thursday, July 14: Araneta Coliseum

1:00 pm NU vs UST
3:00 pm UE vs UP

Saturday, July 16: Araneta Coliseum

11:00 am AdU vs FEU
3:00 pm DLSU vs ADMU

Sunday, July 17: Araneta Coliseum

1:00 pm UP vs NU
3:00 pm UST vs UE

Thursday, July 21: Araneta Coliseum

1:00 pm ADMU vs NU
3:00 pm FEU vs UE

Saturday, July 23: Araneta Coliseum

1:00 pm DLSU vs UP
3:00 pm UE vs ADMU

Sunday, July 24: Philsports Complex

1:00 pm NU vs FEU
3:00 pm UST vs AdU

Thursday, July 28: Philsports Complex

1:00 pm AdU vs UE
3:00 pm NU vs DLSU

Saturday, July 30: Araneta Coliseum

1:00 pm UP vs ADMU
3:00 pm UST vs FEU

Sunday, July 31: Philsports Complex

1:00 pm DLSU vs UE
3:00 pm AdU vs NU

Thursday, August 4: Araneta Coliseum

1:00 pm UP vs FEU
3:00 pm ADMU vs UST

Saturday, August 6: Araneta Coliseum

1:00 pm UE vs NU
3:00 pm DLSU vs AdU

Sunday, August 7: Araneta Coliseum

1:00 pm UST vs UP
3:00 pm FEU vs ADMU

Thursday, August 11: Araneta Coliseum

1:00 pm UP vs AdU
3:00 pm UST vs DLSU

No comments:

Post a Comment